February 25, 2024

Bapn Edu

Science is worth exploring

College of Agricultural Sciences & Forestry honors students of excellence

Louisiana Tech University’s University of Agricultural Sciences and Forestry (SAFS) awarded $34,000 in scholarships and a quantity of other awards at its yearly Agriculture Scholarship Banquet.

“These learners have worked amazingly difficult to place them selves to carry on their productive profession route in agriculture,” reported Dr. Christopher Keyes, SAFS Director. “They’ve shown the Tenets of our university including excellence, determination, know-how, and management and ought to have to be celebrated.”

Featured students:

  • Agriculture Enterprise – Hunter Knowles of Bossier Town and Chase Lemoine of Pioneer
  • Agriculture Training – Cadie Coleman of Ruston
  • Animal Science – Molly Dickens of Benton, Kelcy Dixon of Farmerville, and Kathryn Eschete of St. Francisville

Scholarship recipients:

  • Riser and Melton Tech Farm Scholarship – Erica Thomas of Ida and Nicolas Vaccaro of Covington
  • David Lee Hays Scholarship – Jordan Porter of  Cypress, Texas
  • Dr. Glenn E. Clark Scholarship – Hanna Johnson of Get started
  • Monitor Kavanaugh Service Award – Truett Bankston of Baton Rouge
  • Tommie & Susie Murphey Memorial Scholarship – Kylie Maldonado of Benton
  • Bulldog BBQ Rub Scholarship – Katelyn Lacy of Walker
  • E.C. “Conry” McCann Scholarship – Jacob Thibodeaux of Shreveport and Elizabeth Walker of Taylor
  • Joel W. Petrus Scholarship – Ella Thomas of Ruston
  • Landon Hays Memorial Scholarship – Nico Norris of Ruston, Jordan Brothers of Haughton, Kathryn Eschete of St. Francisville, Clayton Guyotte of Ruston
  • Todd McAfee Memorial Scholarship – Logan McGrath of Haughton
  • T.W. Ray Johnson Scholarship – Caitlin Lawrence of Benton and Alyssa Mayfield of Monroe
  • John S. and Emmie Louise Green Scholarship – Theadora Dawson of Delhi
  • Hal B. Barker Scholarship – Andrea Wheat of West Monroe
  • Fred & Daphne Jewell Scholarship – Josie Camp of Winnfield
  • John A. Wright Scholarship – Kyleigh Bass of Choudrant
  • James Furman & Lavara B. Appreciate Scholarship – Kyleigh Bass of Choudrant
  • Dr. Jeff Hillard Memorial Scholarship – Kerington Bass of Choudrant,  Baileigh Snow of Murfreesborough, Tennessee, and Grant Davis of Monroe
  • Ruston Yard Club – Baileigh Snow of Murfreesborough, Tennessee
  • Hayne Folk Endowment Scholarship – George Stalling of Oak Grove
  • Forbes Management Award – Alyson Fontenot of Pineville
  • The Agricultural Endowment Scholarship – Abigail Wheat of Natchitoches, Brooke Legendre of Slidell, Alana Lovette of Boyce
  • The Agricultural Sciences Scholarship – Laila Chenevert of Cottonport, Kaylee Craddock of Patterson, Kendall LaVigne of Shreveport
  • Debra Martin Memorial Scholarship – Tara Lamb of Wheatland, California, Gabrielle Harris of Shreveport, Makenzi Williamson of Haughton
  • William Green Endowed Scholarship – Alyssa Woodard of Coushatta and Kathlyn Redman of West Monroe

Learners awarded a stethoscope for getting admitted to veterinary university:

  • Rhiannon Ballard-Davis – West Monroe
  • Katie Black – Bossier Town
  • Rachel Buckels – Alexandria
  • Mary Cloutier – Baton Rouge
  • Molly Dickens – Bossier Metropolis
  • Katherine Franklin – Delhi
  • Marianna Gallaspy – Bogalusa
  • Kelly Gerald – Shreveport
  • Zharia Gray – Monroe
  • Kelsey Hightower – Blanchard
  • Jay Miller – Dry Creek
  • Ethan Neal – Pineville
  • Brent Riley Nugent – Kolin
  • Zachary Roberts – Fountain Hill, Arkansas
  • Katheryn Steffins – West Monroe
  • Sonni Tarver – Alexandria
  • Courtney Wingate – Shreveport

Learners recognized for lively participation in the Gamma Chapter of Alpha Zeta, the honor society of optimum distinction for assistance, leadership, and scholarship for agriculture and purely natural methods:

  • Kerington Bass – Choudrant
  • Kyleigh Bass – Choudrant
  • Arabella (Bella) Bailey – San Marcos, Texas
  • Katie Black – Bossier City
  • Jordan Brothers – Haughton
  • Rachel Buckels – Alexandria
  • Allison Clark – Shreveport
  • Molly Dickens – Benton
  • Kathryn Eschete – St. Francisville
  • Zharia Grey – Monroe
  • Clayton Guyotte – Ruston
  • Kyla Jones – Shreveport
  • Elizabeth “Corinne” McFerren – Bossier Town
  • Kathlyn Redman – West Monroe
  • Christan Robicheaux – Lafayette
  • Emonie Roussell – New Orleans
  • Alyssa Woodard – Coushatta
  • Makenzi Williamson – Haughton